Made In China Talk  

Go Back   Made In China Talk > Made in China Discussion > China Import and Export Fairs
Directory Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read 中文




Business Tips - GuangZhou


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2008, 12:03 PM
madeinchina madeinchina is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 337
Feedback: (0)
Default Business Tips - GuangZhou

Business Tips

Area:
7434.4 square km, 4.18% of the whole province

Population:
8.5258 million in the urban area and 1.4172 million in the county cities

Language:
Mandarin and Cantonese are widely spoken

Accommodation:
There are as many as 188 star-rating hotels in the urban area of Guangzhou. Hotels with great facilities can also be found in other surrounding cities if you would like to stay in Panyu, Dongguan or Foshan, all of which are within an hour's ride

Office Hours of Local Government Agencies
8:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Mondays to Fridays
All are closed on Saturdays and Sundays

Banking Hours:
Monday to Friday: 9:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.
Saturday to Sunday: 9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.

Currency:
Renminbi (RMB7.1to US$ 1)

Service Charge:
Restaurants and hotels 0~20%

Communications:
It is very convenient to communicate with outside world. You can dial directly and communicate with more than 500 cities at home and abroad, and in the region of Hong Kong and Macao.
The bandwidth of the direct international outlet for Internet is 400M.
The country code of China is 86 and the city code of Guangzhou is 020.

Weights and Measures:
Guangzhou uses the metric system. kilogram, meter, and litre are most commonly used.
1 kilogram = 2.205 pounds
1 metre = 3.281 feet
1 litre = 0.220 gallon

Time Difference (Take monday in GZ as an example)
Guangzhou (Beijing, Hong Kong): 8:00 (0) (Monday)
New York:19:00 (-13) (Sunday)
London (Paris):0:00 (-8) (Monday)
Tokyo:9:00 (+1) (Monday)
Sydney:10:00 (+2) (Monday)

Climate:
Hot, humid & rainy in summer; cool, dry & less rainy in winter. Average Temperature: 21.4-21.9 C

TRANSPORTATION Aviation service:
Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport provides more than 22 international airlines and regional airlines, flying to more than 70 cities at home and abroad.

Trains:
Guangzhou Railway Station is the starting station of Beijing-Guangzhou Railway
Guangzhou East Railway Station is the starting station of Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train (KTT) and Guangzhou-Meizhou-Shantou Train.

Buses:
There are shuttle buses between Guangzhou and Hong KongYou can take them at China Hotel, Hotel Landmark Canton and White Swan Hotel in Guangzhou.

Urban traffic:
Bus service: You can take none-conductor buses, trolleybuses or special-lined to all districts of the city.The price of a ticket is 1 yuan(RMB) or 2-4 yuan for some long lines.
Metro service: Metro line 1 has 16 stations connecting Guangzhou East Railway Station in the east and Xilang in the west.The whole journey will take 32 minutes.Gong Yuan Qian Station is the conjunction where you can switch between Line 1 & Line 2. You can take Metro line 2 to CECF (Liuhua) Complex, which is located at Yue Xiu Gong Yuan Station, and CECF (Pazhou) Complex, which is located at Xin Gang Dong Station. The price is 2-6 yuan (RMB) .
Taxi service:The starting price is 7 yuan (RMB), 2.6 yuan (RMB) per kilometer.
Reply With Quote




Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


| Business Forum | Toronto Chinese

All times are GMT +9. The time now is 01:16 AM.


All rights reserved. Copyright 2007 Made In China Talk